Nevada

Nevada

Public Breastfeeding Law

“Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a mother may breast feed her child in any public or private location where the mother is otherwise authorized to be, irrespective of whether the nipple of the mother’s breast is uncovered during or incidental to the breast feeding. (Added to NRS by 1995, 126)”

Work Place Pumping Law

AB113

Sections 2 and 5 of this bill require each public and private employer in this State, other than the Department of Corrections, certain small employers and certain licensed contractors, to provide a reasonable break time and a clean, private place for an employee who is a nursing mother to express breast milk. This break time may be provided with or without compensation, except that section 5 requires the break time to be compensated if such break time is otherwise required to be compensated pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement between a private employer and an employee organization. Additionally, sections 2 and 5 prohibit employers from retaliating against an employee who: (1) takes such break time or uses the designated place to express breast milk; or (2) takes any action to enforce this requirement. If a public or private employer would face an undue hardship relating to these requirements, sections 2 and 5 authorize the employer to meet with the employee to discuss potential alternatives. If no agreement is reached on such an alternative, sections 2 and 5 authorize the employer to require the employee to accept a reasonable alternative selected by the employer. Section 2 also authorizes a public employee to file a complaint against his or her public employer for certain violations of sections 2, 4 and 5 of this bill and require the Local Government Employee-Management Relations Board to create an expedited procedure to resolve such a complaint. Section 5 exempts a private employer from the requirements of section 5 if the employer: (1) has fewer than 50 employees and complying with the requirements would cause an undue hardship; or (2) is a licensed contractor and the employee is performing work at a construction jobsite that is at least 3 miles from the regular place of business of the employer. Section 6 of this bill authorizes the Labor Commissioner to enforce these requirements against private employers. Finally, section 7 of this bill makes a private employer who violates these requirements guilty of a misdemeanor, subject to a civil penalty of $5,000 per violation. 

- 79th Session (2017)  Introduced February 7, 2017

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/79th2017/Bills/AB/AB113_EN.pdf

Pages